

OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION

REVISED MINUTES OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL REVISION AND UPDATING COMMITTEE

FOR THE MEETING HELD THURSDAY, MAY 8, 2014

Call to Order:

Chair Dennis Mulvihill called the meeting of the Constitutional Revision and Updating Committee to order at 1:35 p.m.

Members Present:

A quorum was present with Chair Mulvihill, Vice-chair Kurfess and committee members Abaray, Asher, Becket, and Curtin in attendance.

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the April 10, 2014 meeting of the committee were reviewed and approved.

Discussion:

The minutes from the previous meeting were read and Vice-chair Kurfess recommended revisions be made to include the discussion from the previous meeting regarding competing ballot language for constitutional amendments through the General Assembly.

Senior Policy Advisor Steven H. Steinglass presented on the initiated statute process and how proposed revisions by the committee compared to procedures in other states.

The committee discussed the goal of encouraging the use of initiated statutes over constitutional amendments. The committee considered reducing the geographic requirement from 44 to 22 counties for initiated statutes, creating a five-year protection period during which a two-thirds vote of the General Assembly would be required to change initiated statutes, and adjusting the supplemental petition process for initiated statutes.

The committee further discussed allowing the General Assembly to create competing ballot language for constitutional amendments, increasing the vote requirements to pass constitutional

amendments, requiring that a constitutional amendment pass in two subsequent elections, and adjusting the timing and deadlines of the constitutional amendment process.

Adjournment:

With no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Approval:

The minutes of the May 8, 2014 meeting of the Constitutional Revision and Updating Committee were approved at the June 12, 2014 meeting of the committee.

/s/ Dennis P. Mulvihill
Dennis P. Mulvihill, Chair

/s/ Charles F. Kurfess
Charles F. Kurfess, Vice-chair